About Us

Common Cause in Wisconsin (CC/WI) is a non-partisan, non-profit citizen's lobby affiliated with national Common Cause. We focus on campaign finance, ethics and lobby reform, open meetings law and other issues concerning the promotion and maintenance of "clean," open, responsive and accountable government.

CC/WI's state office is located in Madison and is staffed by Jay Heck who serves as the organization's lobbyist and Executive Director, and Sandra Miller, Director of Information Services and Outreach.

Our organization holds events and public meetings with political reform coalition partners each year on voting rights and redistricting reform in Wisconsin in order to engage and educate citizens about these important issues.

CC/WI welcomes volunteers at its state office and as citizen activists. Student interns will be considered for research and other projects and may be eligible for a small stipend. Please contact the office for more information.

Contact Us

Common Cause in Wisconsin
P.O. Box 2597
152 W. Johnson, #212
Madison, WI 53701
voice: (608) 256-2686
fax: (866) 252-3758

Jay Heck
Executive Director

Sandra Miller
Director of Information Services and Outreach

2019 CC/WI State Advisory Board

Tim Cullen – Janesville, Chair
Penny Bernard Schaber – Appleton
Sue Conley – Janesville
David Deininger – Monroe
Mike Drew – Shorewood
Tom Frazier – Verona
Luke Fuszard – Middleton
Kristen Hansen – Waukesha
William Hotz – Brookfield
Kriss Marion – Blanchardville
E. Michael McCann – Milwaukee
Cal Potter – Sheboygan Falls
Robert Schweder – Princeton
Roger Utnehmer – Wausau

CC/WI Emeritus Board Members (years of service) but still CC/WI Members:

Win Abney of Crandon (1992-2003)
Vivien De Back of Greendale (2003-2014)
Ruth Devitt of La Crosse (1992-2000)
Anthony Earl of Madison (1990-2001)
Chet Gerlach of Elkhart Lake (1999-2013)
Stan Gruszynski of Porterfield (1996-2013)
Maxine Hough of East Troy (1996-2014)
David Martin of Muscoda (1998-2017)
Kelda Helen Roys of Madison (2013-2017)
Fred Trost of Elkhart Lake (2004-2017)
Florence Whalen of Oconomowoc (1996-2003)